The 11 minute mile…

OK so it doesn’t quite have the same ring to it as the 4 minute mile, but it’s alright for a beginner isn’t it? I’m pretty sure I could walk an 11 minute mile, but I’m hoping the act of jogging it is doing my muscles and lungs some good! Plus, it’s something to build on and maybe in a years time I’ll be posting about a quicker mile!

However THIS IS THE WEEK. This is the week I start running properly and regularly no matter what. It’s 7 weeks until the Race For Life and I am determined I’m going to run the whole 5k. I’ve just about mastered the 2k in the sense of running it all – as discussed not very quickly, but running it nonetheless. I’d say my comfort zone is probably at a very measley 1.5km at the moment and after that everything seems like a slog. Not helped by the entire journey being uphill on the way back to my home. Arguably, yes, I did have all that downhill on the first .5k so I can’t really complain! Although I think I would rather start with the uphill and know it’s going to get easier!

I’ve also set myself a nasty goal of running 30km over the next 3 weeks. I’m hoping this will spur me on to get out and run as much as possible while I get used to it. So I’m going for 10km a week. By the end of the 3 weeks I’ll only be 4 weeks away from the Race for Life and hopefully able to run roughly 4k at time. Eeek.

You can track my progress here: Nike+ Running

Or sponsor me here: Race For Life

Todays efforts:

Distance: 2.51km

Time: 18.12

Fastest mile: 11.16

Yeah, I have a long way to go.

Leave a Reply

