Happy Valentines Day <3

You’d have to be fairly blind not to notice that today is Valentine’s Day. There’s pink everywhere, hearts hanging everywhere, gooey songs playing on the radio and men running around desperately trying to find that last minute suitable card and bunch of flowers from the petrol station on the way home. OK…so perhaps there might be some women doing the last minute dash for a Valentine’s card as well.

Why do we partake in all of this? Because tradition says so! Now, I’m not one way or the other on Valentine’s. I am of the view that, yeah it’s nice that my husband came home with flowers for me, but I wouldn’t have been heartbroken if he hadn’t. It is, essentally, just another day. And once upon a time, a long time ago, it became the day to celebrate love.

I don’t have many big thoughts, you know, the deep meaningful sort. But today, whilst driving home, I sort of started thinking about love. Valentine’s is traditionally about romantic love and that’s great. But what if it was just about love: every type of love.

What if we didn’t make it romantic necessarily (not to exclude our better halfs of course) but made it far more all-encompassing of all types of love (romantic, family, friends, acquaintances etc)?

And what if we didn’t do that just once a year on 14th Feb but did it every single day?

If we displayed love to everyone, if we always acted with love at the centre of everything we did and everyone we came in contact with. Wouldn’t that be incredible?! I know, unrealistic because we’re human – but fantastic nonetheless.

Whether Christian or not, the Bible has one of the best descriptions of love in 1 Corinthians:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.  It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

If I could just tick one of those elements of love off each day I’d be happy with myself. If I could have a day of complete kindess, a day of complete patience, of being non-envious and non-boastful. Let alone doing them all at once in one day. I wonder how my outlook on life would change? I think it’d change my whole world. But I’d need a lot of practice.

Perhaps it’s time to start practicing…!

hand heart sunset - Google Search | We Heart It

One thought on “Happy Valentines Day <3

  1. Pingback: How are you? | IneptRamblings

Leave a Reply

