This Little Light of Mine

3a5ac0908e1f040a0574fca2152ce72e

How amazing would it be if by the way we lived we stood out? Not stood out because we were boring, unadventurous or, dare I say it ‘religious’. But stood out because we showed kindness at the core, that through our actions, our words and our unspoken words that there was something irresistible about us? That we were, by our very nature, irresistible for people not to want to know – because they want to find out what makes us ‘tick’.

I’m so incredibly pulled at the moment to try and make myself the best version of me that I can be. And perhaps that is for personal gain – because who doesn’t want to be surrounded by people who like them? But I’m pulled in this direction because I believe that love should be central to our life. That God should be central to my life, and He is ultimately the best example of kindness and compassion. The problem is, don’t you think, that life is basically full of the idea that kindness is mistaken for being a pushover. That by being kind you can be walked all over and taken advantage of.

Reminding myself daily to go out of the way to be kind is harder than it first perhaps sounds. I might well be kind to my friends, or the people I get along with. But am I kind to the person that I can’t stand, who grates on me the most? Am I kind to a virtual stranger, or do I just let them pass on by without really registering their existence? Am I kind to the people I spend the majority of my time with – my family? Or do I just settle back and take for granted everything they’ve done and relax into my more selfish self?

When I started blogging I never intended it to be deep. I never really intended it to be anything other than an outlet for myself to type some thoughts. I think it’s pretty incredible that it’s becoming a time to myself where I can think through and make sense of who I want to be and who I want to become – because I don’t want to be complacent and settled when it comes to bettering myself and the person I could be. What’s amazing me more is that the more I think about it, the more I type about it and the more I accept that I am open to change, the more excited I am and the more determined I am to prove myself to Him – that I can become who He intended me to be. And that I may not have an exceptional stand-out talent or calling to use for Him, but sometimes it’s OK to just be the best version of me.

“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

Leave a Reply

