Not seeing is believing

Sometimes I feel like I’m not getting it ‘right’. That Christianity demands more of me than I am able to give. That my knowledge is not sufficient, and that my thirst of knowledge is certainly not. That I am complacent and lazy when it comes to faith.

And in the most part that is probably true – and it’s something I need to work on. I need to challenge myself, to learn more and to rely more deeply on God.

But sometimes it’s just nice to read these words and think that really, in this day where there are so many reasons not to believe, if you’re someone who does then it’s OK to celebrate just that. And although we should be aspiring to do more, to learn more, to be more Christ-like, I think it’s OK to take a break from that feeling and give yourself a pat on the back.

I believe. And that’s the biggest step of all.

24-25 But Thomas, sometimes called the Twin, one of the Twelve, was not with them when Jesus came. The other disciples told him, “We saw the Master.”

But he said, “Unless I see the nail holes in his hands, put my finger in the nail holes, and stick my hand in his side, I won’t believe it.”

26 Eight days later, his disciples were again in the room. This time Thomas was with them. Jesus came through the locked doors, stood among them, and said, “Peace to you.”

27 Then he focused his attention on Thomas. “Take your finger and examine my hands. Take your hand and stick it in my side. Don’t be unbelieving. Believe.”

28 Thomas said, “My Master! My God!”

29 Jesus said, “So, you believe because you’ve seen with your own eyes. Even better blessings are in store for those who believe without seeing.”

Leave a Reply

