Easter Sunday

Today, Easter Sunday, is the most pivotal day of the Christian faith. Without Easter Sunday there is no Christianity. There’s just a guy that said some good things, lived a good life and suffered a cruel death.

But Easter Sunday changes *everything*. Easter Sunday is a day to celebrate and be so thankful for what Jesus has done. It’s a day to tell yourself that he felt that YOU were that important, that treasured and that special to die for you. And then to conquer death.

“Now death where is your sting? Our resurrected King has rendered you defeated!”

Here are some key moments about Jesus resurrection:

Matthew 28: The angel spoke to the women: “There is nothing to fear here. I know you’re looking for Jesus, the One they nailed to the cross. He is not here. He was raised, just as he said.

Luke 24: While they were saying all this, Jesus appeared to them and said, “Peace be with you.” They thought they were seeing a ghost and were scared half to death. He continued with them, “Don’t be upset, and don’t let all these doubting questions take over. Look at my hands; look at my feet—it’s really me. Touch me. Look me over from head to toe. A ghost doesn’t have muscle and bone like this.” As he said this, he showed them his hands and feet. They still couldn’t believe what they were seeing. It was too much; it seemed too good to be true.

John 20: “Then he focused his attention on Thomas. “Take your finger and examine my hands. Take your hand and stick it in my side. Don’t be unbelieving. Believe.”

Thomas said, “My Master! My God!”

Jesus said, “So, you believe because you’ve seen with your own eyes. Even better blessings are in store for those who believe without seeing.”

[Infact Luke 24 is one of my favourite passages in the Bible for when I am struggling. You can read more about that here.]

Without the resurrection there is no Christianity. There is no hope. But Jesus conquered death and took on our sins so that we might be perfect in God’s eyes. That’s hope like no other we know or will know. That we could experience a world beyond this one in the full presence of God – and that blows my mind.

I hope you’re all having the most wonderful Easter weekend!

Leave a Reply

